Just another WordPress site

Wine might not be totally Gluten-Free

0

Wine might not be totally Gluten-Free

A glass of wine can relieve stress and enhance the flavor of your meal. But this ancient beverage isn’t perfect. Wine contains sugar, might leave you dehydrated, and doesn’t always fit into a restrictive diet. Which leaves us wondering: are both red and white wines gluten-free?

Generally speaking, yes, but “it’s not so straightforward,” New York City nutritionist Keri Gans, RD, tells Health.

First, a gluten refresher: Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat and other grains, such as barley and rye. Some people have a sensitivity to gluten or are gluten intolerant, meaning that when they consume foods containing gluten, they develop symptoms like abdominal discomfort or joint pain. Gluten is also problematic for the 1% of the population that has celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder in which gluten attacks the small intestine and can cause painful symptoms like bloating, fatigue, and weight loss.

Gans explains that red and white wines are made predominantly from grapes. Grapes are gluten-free, and the fermentation process also involves no gluten. Yet there are ways that gluten can get into a bottle.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.